Ballandalus

Home » History » ‘Ali ibn Abi Talib (d. 661) on the Martyrdom of ‘Umar ibn al-Khattab (d. 644)

‘Ali ibn Abi Talib (d. 661) on the Martyrdom of ‘Umar ibn al-Khattab (d. 644)

عن ابن عباس رضي الله عنهما قال:
إني لواقف في قوم، فأدعوا لعمر بن الخطاب، وقد وضع على سريره، إذا رجل من خلفي قد وضع مرفقه على منكبي يقول: رحمك الله، إني كنت لأرجو أن يجعلك الله مع صاحبيك، لأني كثيرا مما كنت أسمع رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم يقول: (كنت وأبو بكر وعمر، وفعلت وأبو بكر وعمر، وانطلقت وأبو بكر وعمر).فإن كنت لأرجو أن يجعلك الله معهما، فالتفت، فإذا هو علي بن أبي طالب. فضائل الصحابه من صحيح البخاري ج1ص12

Narrated Ibn ‘Abbas (may God be pleased with him): While I was standing amongst the people who were invoking Allah for ‘Umar bin Al-Khattab (may God be pleased with him) who was lying (dead) on his bed, a man behind me rested his elbows on my shoulder and said,

“(O ‘Umar!) May God bestow His Mercy on you. I always hoped that God will keep you with your two companions, for I often heard God’s Apostle (may the peace and blessings of God be upon him) saying, “I, Abu Bakr and ‘Umar were (somewhere).”

“I, Abu Bakr and ‘Umar did (something).”

“I, Abu Bakr and ‘Umar set out.’ So I hoped that God will keep you with both of them.”

I turned around and realized that the speaker was Ali bin Abi Talib (may God be pleased with him).”*

(Sahih Bukhari)

*Ofcourse, Imam ‘Ali (may God be pleased with him) named two of his sons Abu Bakr and ‘Umar.

Image


Leave a Reply

