Ballandalus

Home » History » An Avicennan Prayer

An Avicennan Prayer

The following is a supplication made by the great Muslim philosopher Ibn Sina/Avicenna (d. 1037)

نَعْوُذُ بِكَ اللّٰهُمَ مِنْ شَّرِ فِتْنَةٍ
تُطَوِّقُ مِنْ حَلَّتْ بِهِ عِيْشَةً ضَنْكَا
رَجَعْنَا إِلَيْكَ ٱلآنَ فَٱقْبَلْ رُجُوعَنَا
وَقَلِّبْ قُلُوباً طَالَ إِعْرَاضُهَا عَنْكَا
فَإِنْ أَنْتَ لَمْ تُبرِئْ سَقَامَ نُفُوسِنَا
وَتَشْفِي عَمَايَاهَا إِذَنْ فَلِمَنْ يُشْكَى
– ابن سينا

I seek refuge in You, O Lord, from the evils of strife.
I forsake the trivial seduction of the world, necklace of a narrow life.
I now return to You, accept my return,
and change this heart that has for so long turned away from You.
If You do not restore my ailing soul and heal its blindness,
to whom would I raise my complaint?

(From H. Jahien et A. Nourreddine, Anthologie des textes poétiques attribués à Avicenne, Alger, Fac. de médecine, 1960, p. 103.)

Image


Leave a Reply

